All kinds of helpful hints, advertisements and practical "how-to" advice can all be found in periodicals from our archival collection. For example, if you ever wondered "Where's the beef?" we've got the answer! Learn more about the cuts of meat you may have been missing with this chart from the Farm & Home magazine of November 15, 1930. Click for Larger Image Click for Larger Image
Here is the latest newsletter installment of an image from the museum’s award-winning book Watershed Moments – A Pictorial History of Courtenay and District. Click for Larger Image Click for Larger Image Photo credit: The award-winning Comox District Men's Musical choir, June 1930. Charles Sillence photograph. CDM 984.13.1. Page 169.
Merville’s rural nature attracted “back-to-the-landers” in the 1970s. The free spirited ethos of the time allowed for unique styles in architecture; one example was the driftwood house built by Jim Egan and Jack Nesbit. The Comox District Free Press of September 14, 1977 featured an article about the unusual construction. Click for Larger Image Click for Larger Image Bonus Jim Egan was a writer, politician and gay activist who was honoured with a Heritage Minute in 2018. The Heritage Minute can be viewed here.
A reminder to readers that October 6-12 is fire prevention week. The Duncan family lost a landmark as noted in this October 3, 1935 Comox District Free Press article. Firefighter Cliff Laver sustained an injury and a strange loss that confirmed the intensity of the fire. With legacy support from the Bickle Family and the Comox Valley Echo.
Time and Date: 7 pm, Tuesday, October 22, 2019 Location: Rotary Gallery of the Courtenay and District Museum Speaker: May Q. Wong Tickets: $5 for Historical Society members; $6 for general public. Advance tickets recommended. Tickets can be purchased over the phone by calling 250-334-0686 ext 2. The dynamic May Wong presents fascinating stories on unsung people of early Victoria from various cultural communities. Click for More Info
The Comox Valley Chamber of Commerce was first founded as the Board of Trade in 1913. It was incorporated on March 22, 1919 and in 1948 the name was changed to Chamber of Commerce. The first building was constructed from donated supplies and volunteer labour in 1958 on Cliffe Avenue. Once the building was completed and funding was secured from the City, students were hired to provide tourist information. The new location was perfect for the arrival of the "Deuce," the logging locomotive donated to the City of Courtenay from the Comox Logging & Railway Company. In the 1970s times were tough for the [...]
It's harvest time! Who wouldn't want a brand new Massey-Harris binder? And while you're at it, how about a new tractor too? They both look great on paper but may not have been within everyone's reach as this advertisement is from The Nor'- West Farmer magazine of July 21, 1930. By then the effects of the Great Depression would be noticeable. All kinds of helpful hints, advertisements and practical "how-to" advice can all be found in periodicals from our archival collection.
Here is the latest newsletter installment of an image from the museum’s award-winning book Watershed Moments – A Pictorial History of Courtenay and District. Photo credit: Division 2 class from the Fanny Bay School, 1939. Teacher Irene Jones is standing on the far right of the photograph with the boys. CDM 984.39.1 Page 179. Photo caption: "From 1926 until 1942, about half the students at the two-room Fanny Bay School were of Japanese descent. Their fathers worked for the Kagetsu Logging Company, which had a sizeable operation in the area. It was important to the families to preserve their culture, and the children would [...]
A brush with "celebrity" for Valleyites in September of 1927 when Premier J.D. MacLean officially opened the new consolidated schools. The article from the September 8th edition of the Courtenay Free Press goes on to list some interesting statistics about the growth of education in BC. With legacy support from the Bickle Family and the Comox Valley Echo.
Summer may be coming to an end, but that doesn't mean the fun has to stop! Join the Courtenay and District Museum with your group or class and explore our various educational programmes. Topics cover early settlement to volcanoes, to dinosaurs and more! Click here for more information on the different interactive educational experiences we offer all year long.
Merville’s importance as a soldier settlement precipitated the Prince of Wales’ visit to the Comox Valley on September 26, 1919. The Cumberland Islander of September 27 covered the event and you can read that story below. But what about those little details that didn’t make it into the article? For example, the royal car was part of a “parade” led by A.B. (Charlie) Ball down to the Agricultural Grounds. Jeff Hannay presented an ice cream cone to his Highness in the middle of the main street. And the royal route? It was E&N Station, down main street to the Agricultural Grounds, Dyke Road to [...]